A Magazine for the George Mason University Community

Major Awards 2010*

March 15, 2011

The National Science Foundation awarded $3.8 million to Jagadish Shukla (College of Science) and James Kinter (Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Studies)
to study the predictability of seasonal to decadal variations of climate and climate change using complex climate models.

The National Institute of Justice awarded $3.0 million to Faye S. Taxman (College of Humanities and Social Sciences) to conduct a field experiment of reentry programs in six sites. In addition, the National Institute on Drug Abuse awarded Taxman $1.0 million to conduct an implementation study in using contingency management in justice settings.

The Virginia Department of Education awarded Michael Behrmann (College of Education and Human Development) $2.3 million to provide professional development training to Virginia special education teachers to improve services to students with disabilities and $1.5 million to produce and deliver accessible instructional materials for local educational agencies in Virginia that have students with disabilities.

Northrop Grumman Corporation awarded $2.0 million to Michael Hieb and Mark Pullen (Center of Excellence in Command, Control, Communications, Computing, and Intelligence) to provide interoperable and actionable geospatial information to a NATO Coalition Command and Control Environment.

The National Institutes of Health awarded $1.6 million to Juan Cebral (College of Science) to use computational modeling of blood flows in brain aneurysms to understand their progression and improve assessment of rupture risk and hemorrhagic stroke.

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration awarded $1.5 million to Lance Sherry (the Volgenau School of Engineering) and George Hunter (Sensis Corporation) to use their simulation of national airspace to examine the effects of performance and safety of modernization proposals in the presence of weather and other disruptions.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology awarded $1.4 million to Krysztof Gaj and Jens-Peter Kaps (the Volgenau School of Engineering), in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago and Virginia Tech, to develop methodology and software for evaluating candidates for new standards in the area of cryptography.

The U.S. Department of Transportation awarded $1.3 million to Michael Bronzini, Kuppusamy
and Mohan Venigalla (the Volgenau School of Engineering) to deliver a method for evaluating U.S. domestic marine highway routes by applying remote sensing and spatial information technologies.

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism awarded $1.3 million to Christianne Esposito-Smythers, Jerome Short, and Patrick McKnight (College of Humanities and Social Sciences), in collaboration with Brown University, to develop and test a family-based cognitive behavioral substance abuse, suicide, and HIV prevention program for adolescents receiving community mental health services.

The National Institutes of Health awarded $1.3 million to Yuntao Wu (College of Science) to study how HIV-1, the AIDS virus, affects human blood CD4 T cells through triggering cascades of molecular events that alter cellular behavior.

The National Institutes of Health awarded $1.2 million to Avrama Blackwell (Krasnow Institute of Advanced Study) to use experimental and computational techniques to investigate how dopamine controls activity and learning in the basal ganglia, which has implications for the understanding of Parkinson’s disease and addiction.

The National Science Foundation awarded $1.0 million to Edward Maibach (College of Humanities and Social Sciences) for three research projects focused on exploring the potential of local TV weathercasters to educate the public about climate change.

*Some of these awards are multiyear awards.

No Comments Yet »

Leave a comment